Improving Schools. Empowering Students. Promoting Excellence.

Welcome to NEASC!

NEASC is an independent, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization which connects and serves over 1500 public, independent, and international schools in the US and worldwide. Founded in 1885, the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) has been working to establish and maintain high standards for all levels of education longer than any other accreditation agency in the United States. NEASC is made up of three Commissions which work in close partnership to ensure quality education for all students.

A globally recognized standard of excellence, NEASC Accreditation attests to a school’s high quality and integrity

Independent Schools

The NEASC Commission on Independent Schools (CIS) accredits and supports a wide range of private schools including:

  • traditional boarding schools
  • day preparatory schools
  • private elementary schools
  • schools serving students with special needs or interests
  • religiously affiliated schools
International Education

Schools which may seek accreditation through the NEASC Commission on International Education (CIE) include:

  • International and American schools both within the US and around the globe
  • National Schools with embedded international programs 
  • online education academies and providers
Public Schools

The NEASC Commission on Public Schools (CPS) accredits and supports:

  • Public elementary, middle, and high schools (K-12, K-8, 5-8, 7-12, and 9-12)
  • Career and technical schools/centers

Accreditation is founded on the principle that comprehensive self-reflection followed by candid feedback from professional peers is essential to ongoing school improvement and achieving educational success. Guided by research-based standards, which are periodically reviewed and revised by leading New England educators, accreditation provides a clear direction for school communities striving to ensure their students receive outstanding educational experiences.
Cameron C. Staples, President/CEO of NEASC